Tags

, ,

For over a month now, I have not been getting what I want out of diet and exercise.

I’ve been traveling, dining out, and overindulging and all of these activities have aided me in not keeping up with my goals. Establishing an eating lifestyle is important for me because I have ulcerative colitis. I’d also like to break free of my sugar addiction and cut gluten from my diet. Sounds strict and impossibly restrictive when I actually put it on paper…uhhh Internet? Text? Whatever.

Here’s the deal. I’ve been trying to teach myself moderations for YEARS. It worked for me last summer. I was at my local fitness studio 5-6 days a week and following the Paleo lifestyle 85% of the time. Three solid months. 20 pounds lighter. Losing weight wasn’t exactly the objective but it just so happens that with the type of food I was eating and the amount of calories I was burning the weight was just falling off.

So I’m on this “I did it once, and I can do again” mentality, yet I haven’t been able to do it again. Mismanagement of money and late night drinking carb loading are just some of the things that have held me back. I love food. I love healthy food, with an occasional dietary splurge here or there (I just have to wrap my mind around that concept). I love to cook and love to grocery shop. My challenges are lack of willpower, see-food-eat-food syndrome, and poor meal planning. Seriously, I read Yelp.com reviews of restaurants at work for fun. Clearly I have a problem. Food and travel are passions of mine and can honestly become quite thought-consuming.

Now it’s time to get serious. As I am preparing to whip myself into shape financially, I am also trying to get back on track with diet and fitness. I’ve affirmed that I’d like to be on track with the Paleo eating lifestyle by 9/12 and overall this year I just want to lead a more active lifestyle. I’ve got a beginning (admitting the problem) and an end (see affirmations), so now it’s onto forming an action plan and setting mini goals. I think I’m really coming around to this whole goal setting thing.

-D-

